• If you currently own, previously owned or want to own an Avalanche, we welcome you to become a member today. Membership is FREE, register now!

Should I take the plunge on my '05 z71???? AND MOD

hightower

Alright guys, I need some advice.  (or perhaps more like encouragement?)

I'm going to college in 6 weeks, and I've been working all summer for my dad in Atlanta.  I work as a general contractor, so I get paid more than minimum wage at a fast food joint.

Now, I need advice on if I should mod or not.  I'm assuming most of you will say yes, and I can't blame you, but if I am going to, I need advice on what to do.  I really like bang for the buck mods, and DIY mods.  But like I said I've got a job and some money to spend, so I'm open to suggestions.

I don't want to be like every other high school kid with a loud exhaust and a lift.  I'd like my mods to have some purpose.  I've considered stuff like a roof rack, front and rear custom bumpers.  A Budget Lift for clearence purposes as I've bottomed out before while trail riding.  I should mention I can weld, and I'd like to fabricate some of the parts, although I don't have a tube bender...

My old man pays for my tires, and my BFG ATs are wearing down, so if I pick up a set of rims he'd probably help cover the tires.  Recommendations?  Perhaps a BL and a few extra inches on the tires would be nice?

Anyways, I'd really appreciate some insight into what you guys recommend. 

:B: :B: :B:
34o7pnd.jpg

Hauling my restoration project:
e96vwg.jpg

P.S.: This was my old man's truck before he gave it to me for my 16th birthday.  If only I could get him to mod his '08 z71 Avy.....    >:D

Ambers, Sail Panel LED's, All-4-On-High are all simple inexpensive (under $30 total) MOD's.

Some people have also painted their brake calipers with some high-end paint.

Strobe lights, train horns, light bars are some of the more expensive ones, but are very effective.