• If you currently own, previously owned or want to own an Avalanche, we welcome you to become a member today. Membership is FREE, register now!

Anyone wired an Avital 4103 Remote start on a 2004 1500?

Davedd

PM 2022
PM 2020
SM 2014
I purchased a Avital Model 4103 for a good price (I think). Retail $199 Tiger Direct $45. I am studying the Installation Guide and a Haynes Repair Manual (24066). Trying to figure out where to wire what. If anyone has done this successfully before, I would like to compare notes (and schematics). I think I can do it and am willing to share information, but it will be easier if someone else has done it. Thanks in advance. Dave

What interface will you be using? You're installing this in a 2004 avalanche?

Might have been referring to how you were interfacing into the truck. Newer trucks tie into the CAN bus more than older trucks do. I am assuming your '04 is the same as my '03 and I have been told most of the connection is simple as tying into the right wires. You do need a security bypass module if you do not have one or it will not work. Newer trucks they mostly just tie into the CAN bus and need very few other wires hooked up. Some modules actually use your factory remotes to operate the starter unit.

You may want to make sure you have a shop that you trust install a starter for you instead of going the DIY route. If you install it poorly you will have nothing but issues and your truck becomes easy to steal because you bypass the security to make these work. And an improperly installed start unit could end up making the truck uninsurable against theft if the company finds out you installed your own.

But even with that warning if you decide to do it anyway look around on this site. There are postings giving the details about every wire you will need to access.