• If you currently own, previously owned or want to own an Avalanche, we welcome you to become a member today. Membership is FREE, register now!

Water Leaking from Cabin to Bed

EFS463

Hey guys, new to the forum. Let me start of by saying I am relatively new to the Chevrolet world, I just bought this truck of mine in October (2004 Chevy Avy 4x4). I am a Toyota technician and am not really familiar with the common issues of these trucks.

Last night after a weekend of deer hunting I was hosing out the bed and I dropped the midgate down to hand clean the back of the midgate. I noticed some water pooling up on the trum behind the rear seats. Today I removed the plastic threshold and the metal cover held down with the T-30 screws and cleared all the leaves out of the drain that is in the front of the bed. I then went back to the car wash to finish my cleanup job. When I was done hosing out the bed, I dropped the midgate to find water pooling in this same area. Pic is linked here.

I know it doesn't look like much in the pic but before I wiped it up it was a lot more. Is the water supposed to drain here in these trucks? I noticed the 2 holes in the trim, are they drains? If so they must be clogged. Now I did still have that metal cover off the truck when I washed the bed out, I don't know if that helps seal off the cabin, but I don't see how it would. Is this supposed to be this way or is there a fix guys?

I am a hunter and I absolutely, positively, can NOT have any "liquids" seeping from the bed into the cabin. Im sure you guys can understand why, as that would get a little stinky and messy. I am sure I am not the only hunter in the world that owns an Avalanche. I am hoping you guys can help a brother out! I am a little upset with this as I still owe money on this thing and selling it for a silverado pickup is not really an option :( Whats the word guys? Thanks for the help in advance and I am looking forward to getting to know you guys. Thanks .