• If you currently own, previously owned or want to own an Avalanche, we welcome you to become a member today. Membership is FREE, register now!

2004 Non-Bose Speaker Replacements

acelaphillies

Hi guys,

After buying my '04 Avy this past December I discovered that all of my speakers were dead except for the one in the driver's side door. Even on that one the bass sounds crackly. So I figured once it got warm I would replace them with new ones.

Let me just say up front, I am totally new to audio systems. A few days ago I didn't even know what a tweeter was!!  :eek: However, I have been researching a lot the past few days on here as well as other sites like crutchfield. I read through a bunch of old topics, but none of them quite answered my questions.

I am not looking to do anything fancy...if I can do a direct swap with upgraded speakers I will be happy. I am not looking to increase volume over the stock speakers either. However, I would rather not just replace the speakers with new GM parts because I feel that I can get something better with not much more $$.

My parents have a JBL system in their Toyota that sounds good, so I started there. I found these speakers that look nice, but I have some questions: http://www.jbl.com/car-speakers/GTO629.html?cgid=car-speakers#start=1

This is from JBL's website:
25 ? 180 watts suggested amplifier power range

JBL engineers designed the GTO 629 coaxial speaker to produce strong, clear sound from a head-unit or amplifier capable of delivering up to 180 watts of power. This makes the GTO 629 an ideal match to systems powered with head-unit or factory-amplifier power levels.

This is great for me because I don't want to change the HU. However, I have not been able to find much info on the audio system in my truck. If I do not have Bose am I correct that I do not have a factory amp? How much power does the stock base-level HU put out? Is it between the recommended 25-180 watts?