• If you currently own, previously owned or want to own an Avalanche, we welcome you to become a member today. Membership is FREE, register now!

Aux transmission cooler?

adamer

Finally I?ve got home and can get some work done on my Avalanche.
Right now car is in the workshop for some fix on the electrical problem on the dashboard + some mods as additional backing lights and sensors, fog lights.
I just am wondering if I should mount additionally transmissions cooler at the same time.
I?m not planning to tow something heavy but hear that due to specific European use is nice thing to have. Do I really need to have it?
If yes did somebody could recommend cooler? Should I have cooler with separate fan?
I have no experience with driving automatic transmission at all and worry about overheating.

Aux transmission cooler is fairly inexpensive. It doesn't matter what brand.  I added one about six years ago. Very happy I did. Transmission has lasted 155K miles (249K Km) with medium duty towing and very tall mountain climbing.

B&M Supercooler or Long Manufacturing unit. Both are stacked plate coolers (much stronger than fin an tube coolers) and make sure you get one with the low temperature bypass valve in it.

My mechanics suggested tube cooler, I will get your tip regarding stacked plate coolers. Not sure if all of them have thermostat

If you are not towing or hauling heavy loads it is not really required....

Does not hurt to have it either ---- other then takes longer to get up to opearting temps.

And if you do get one I suggest getting tranny temp gage as well.