• If you currently own, previously owned or want to own an Avalanche, we welcome you to become a member today. Membership is FREE, register now!

New Avalanche owner

Canada19

Hello all,

Figured I would stop in an introduce myself and also ask a few questions. I am new to the Avalanche world just got a 2009 LTZ with 118,000 mi on it. It was my fathers since it was new but the company he is working for has a policy that there trucks can not be older than 7 years old. So I bought his off him.

Overall it is a very nice truck.

I have been reading this forum for the last week and I have concerns about the AFM. Although the truck has none of the symptoms that have been described as a result of AFM I still feel it is in my best interest to disable it.

Originally I was going to do the Black Bear tune, but 599 USD is closer to 800 CAD. So I will probably just be using the range module. So my first question is, are there any other routes worth exploring that can disable my AFM other than the Range Module or BB tune?

Second question. I noticed there a pieces of paper shoved in the center of the dash by the windshield. When I take them out the dash rattles like crazy, does anyone have any solutions to this problem other than jamming it with paper?

Third question. A friend of mine is a heavy duty mechanic and said that overall the 6 speed transmissions in the avalanche is pretty good in terms of reliability as long at they don't get too hot. Can someone fill me in on what the acceptable operating temperatures are?

Fourth and final question, for now. I can not just plug in my Ipod and run it off the stock head unit, so I would like to change this out with an aftermarket one. Generally I just buy a head unit and a wiring harness and I am good to go. Is there anything specific to the Avalanche that I need to know about before swapping out the head unit?

Anyways, that's all I have for now. Thanks for taking the time to read this.