• If you currently own, previously owned or want to own an Avalanche, we welcome you to become a member today. Membership is FREE, register now!

yellow gunk on tip of dipstick

weddow

I have been semi diagnosed with a rear main seal leak. I randomly checked my oil the other day to make sure it was still full and at the tip of the dipstick was a yellow gunk. No more than 2mm worth. I wiped it off and checked again and there it was. Did maybe 4 times and then it stopped. It had a Dijon mustard type color and viscosity. My dad said it may be water. Other things I have read is extreme temp changes can cause this. And in Texas we have had a crazy Winter. Anyone else experience this and should I be concerned? Thanks.

I'm not an expert, but I will tell you what I've learned from experience.  I had this happen to me on a vehicle years ago.  The oil fill cap also had this same stuff on the underside of it.  I was told a thin layer of it is caused by condensation.  But if it's a thick layer you have water in your oil.  Long story short we ended up having to replace the valve cover gasket, and in doing so we found we had a thick layer of said gunk inside the valve cover.  We ended up replacing the head gasket as it was shot.  Problem solved.  Hopefully in your case it's just condensation.  Good luck!

Check front of passenger side head. If you have the 706 heads it could be a cracked head.
These are prone to cracking. Only way to know for sure is to pull valve covers and check.

I did this and I had coolant inside the heads on both sides. Not sure that a blown head gasket creates this but certainly a cracked head can.

There were two types of heads made and I believe the good ones say 862 on them.

Very common with the 5.3. I will be ordering new heads shortly ($300 for pair and I have to send back my old ones)

If you drive the truck much longer before finding the source you are likely going to do extensive damage to your engine.

Rodney