• If you currently own, previously owned or want to own an Avalanche, we welcome you to become a member today. Membership is FREE, register now!

Grinding Noise unfounded

PEKSAV

Hello,
I have a 2002 AV, 231,000 miles.  For the past 18 mos. I have heard a grinding noise when driving.  I am no mechanic but it sounds like a bearing grinding. It also clunks when going from second to first gear. I don't know if those two are related.
I have been to numerous mechanics and one Chevy dealership, I either get I don't know, a guess, or like the Chevy dealership told me you will know what it is when it finally breaks.( that mechanic no longer works there)
This is what I have done to try to remedy the noise.
  Put on new tires, Replace outer and inner tie rods, idler arm, idler arm bracket, intermediate steering shaft, driver side bearing hub, front alignment, rear brakes, rear brake discs, parking brakes, rear differential fluid and transfer case fluid.
The noise gets louder as you step on the gas and quieter when you take your foot off the gas pedal.
I can't find anyone that will hoist it up a few inches  and let it run tires turning so we can figure it out.
Any help information or opinion is greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Know how old the driveshaft u-joints are? Does the grinding happen in reverse too?

With the age and mileage of your truck, I would also have a look at the u-joints.

I would also say the u-joints are done.
On my truck, none of the u-joints had play but I took it all apart anyway because I was chasing a noise.
One of the u-joints was totally rusted out (front driveshaft at the transfer case end I believe), and the remaining ones were not too bad, but had some brinelling going on inside the bearing cups.
I changed all of them since I had everything out. The u-joints are inexpensive, and fairly easy to replace. No reason not to do them!  (y)

CarMech1969