Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Keep CAFCNA Alive! Become a Supporting Member Today!

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Coolant bypass WARNING!  (Read 30744 times)

BigBlackAv

• Charter Member
  • BBA status: trading in...check my Garage Sale!
Re: Coolant bypass WARNING!
« Reply #25 on: 03/11/06 04:00 AM »

but, i know it has to be better....I am a private pilot and knowing what i know about "icing" (which was just enough to pass the test :P ) i would not have done this if i lived up north ... and FWIW, my new LS2 throttlebody does not even have ports for coolant to circulate through it.
'07 Midnight Warrior-BAK-TAR-PCIII-V&H Big Shots-Lots of black powder coat!
'03 z71-Onyx Black-Radix with a 4L80E and 14 bolt rear end plus lots of extras!

INresponse

• CAFCNA 2008 Supporting Member
  • Remember when people used to be proud of America?
« Reply #26 on: 08/27/06 12:14 PM »

Has anyone thought of doing the reverse of what GM intended? Instead of putting a little heat there why not a little cold? I would think it would be easy to run a little cool air through that bypass hole, maybe something that could easily be shut off in the winter? A small line tapped into the air box with a shutoff valve comes to mind. You could hide it under the air feed going to the throttle body.

Butch

I like this idea. 

I think I will disconnect mine when I change out the thermostat.  But I think the cold air idea will need a better flow design (more volume).  Not sure by the way you worded this, are you talking of tapping into the A/C air box or the air cleaner air box?

I would think it would need plenty of airflow to have any of cooling effect.  If the air moved too slow it would have little effect.  I am thinking it would need some type of funnel design up by the grille and taper it down to add pressure and increase airspeed.