• If you currently own, previously owned or want to own an Avalanche, we welcome you to become a member today. Membership is FREE, register now!

08' LTZ 5.3 Truck DIES on HGWY no code except Engine Power Loss messge HELP!!!!

Mutt22

I will try an explain as best I can what has been done, the original issue, and the NEW LIFE THREATENING ISSUE.  If need more detail I can give you all I have and know just ask but I am no mechanic that's for sure.

Original Symptoms: truck would run fine in the a.m. on my way to work. After 3-4 hours get in the truck and drive to my destination for lunch or meeting then it would not restart back.  Leave it alone for 1-4 hours it would start back and run again. After work same thing, I would finally get it home and the next morning it would start fine again.  All gauges worked normally as this was going on and no codes were giving.  It has an O2 code and suspension system code that are keeping engine light on that I know about. But those I believe are unrelated to this nightmare. 

Fixes Attempt #1 (1st mechanic): replaced the fuel pump and filter. NEW ISSUES: The gas gauge stopped working, and still same starting issue "mechanic says it has to be the ECM/ECU or your gauge cluster" .......his advice....take the battery cables off when this occurs.....ground them together for 15 minutes and hook it back up and it would work until I could afford a new computer.  This seemed to work at 1st then it would not work at all and the truck would only start after being left alone for all night. I had to only start the truck every 8 hours or so.  Then it got to the point 8 hours was not enough time took it to an electrical mechanic.