Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Keep CAFCNA Alive! Become a Supporting Member Today!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Instrument cluster and dash lights not working!  (Read 14695 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

xtigerx

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 153
  • JoRdAn'S

I have a problem with the instrument dash lights, none of the lights turn on in the cluster or ac dash when I turn them on with my headlights, I checked all the fuses and they still all good, anyone have an idea?
Logged
More pix of the ride CLICK BELOW
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/651405

More Pix in this Link
http://public.fotki.com/SuPaxHaTcH/neo/

isjustus

  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,088
  • I need an updated AVatar
Re: Instrument cluster and dash lights not working!
« Reply #1 on: 10/08/05 01:52 PM »

Is your dimmer turned all the way down?
Logged
2002 Green Av Z71

xtigerx

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 153
  • JoRdAn'S
Re: Instrument cluster and dash lights not working!
« Reply #2 on: 10/08/05 02:29 PM »

no my dimmer is on, ive spent  hour figuring it out, cant seem to find out what happen, checked all the fuse replace them and still nothing works, make sure its harness connected, everything seems connected, I think one day changed my head unit and some how my instrument lights stop working, I checked all the wired see if nethign was touching or any shorts, all the wires is good, I have no idea how this happen, I also checked the bulbs there fine too
Logged
More pix of the ride CLICK BELOW
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/651405

More Pix in this Link
http://public.fotki.com/SuPaxHaTcH/neo/

RichUF

  • CAFCNA 2005 Supporting Member
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10,631
  • UNP1MPD
Re: Instrument cluster and dash lights not working!
« Reply #3 on: 10/08/05 05:11 PM »

I don't have any clue if the two are related, but did you try putting your stock head unit back in to see if the lights come back?

ask sperry
Logged
[sig deleted by Admin...your account is next to go]

isjustus

  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,088
  • I need an updated AVatar
Re: Instrument cluster and dash lights not working!
« Reply #4 on: 10/09/05 06:47 AM »

Could be in the headlight/dimmer switch itself if everything works. Start checking for power out at the switch. May need a wiring diagram from Sperry though......
Logged
2002 Green Av Z71

xtigerx

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 153
  • JoRdAn'S
Re: Instrument cluster and dash lights not working!
« Reply #5 on: 10/09/05 06:51 AM »

yes the power still works, ac buttons work when i push it and it lights and also when I use signal or anything it lights through the cluster but none of the lights that are suppose to be on are lite when ur headlights are on and also I did try putting my stock head unit back still nothing
Logged
More pix of the ride CLICK BELOW
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/651405

More Pix in this Link
http://public.fotki.com/SuPaxHaTcH/neo/

isjustus

  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,088
  • I need an updated AVatar
Re: Instrument cluster and dash lights not working!
« Reply #6 on: 10/09/05 11:23 AM »

I'm talkin' about taking a test light or DVOM and actually checking the power out of the switch/dimmer for the lights. The A/C lights and the turn signals on the dash have nothing to do with the dash light circuits. Notice how they would still work when the lights are off during the day? You need to figure out which wire from the headlight switch feeds the dimmer, and which wire comes from the dimmer for the dash lights. Test those, and you'll figure out your problem.  ;)
Logged
2002 Green Av Z71

BIGJ

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25
  • I love the Chevy Avalanche
Re: Instrument cluster and dash lights not working!
« Reply #7 on: 11/01/05 06:38 PM »

I had the same problem on my 02 avy bout 6 months ago.  it was my dimmer switch, so i had it replaced and about 2 days later it was out again.  I figured out that the way that chevy grounds the truck is not the best, and when i put a system in my avy something was shorting it out some how.  I redid my ground wire directly to the frame instead of the engine block, and seems to work fine now. 
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.108 seconds with 24 queries.