• If you currently own, previously owned or want to own an Avalanche, we welcome you to become a member today. Membership is FREE, register now!

MPG FAIL - Not so much fail!

Eskimo

OK.. so we all know slowing down helps when towing, but damn, I was surprised it would (with another style change) help by 20+%!  (MPG FAIL is my license plate  :p )

Truck is my '04 2500, 3.73, modded stock airbox, dyno tune, 93 octane, and a cat-back exhaust.  Front is leveled, and I'm riding on 275-55/20 LRR tires. (General Grabber HTS).  Trailer is a 7x16 flat-nose, extra-height Car-Mate enclosed with a high-profile A/C on the roof (OAH: 9'3"), only weighing around 5k loaded, but has bad aerodynamics.

My previous style (That I've been using for close to 2 years with the same setup) was this..  Cruise control set at 70-75.  When approaching a hill, I'd lay into the throttle so that the Inst. econ read 6-7 MPG, which is the most throttle it'll accept in OD without downshifting, and disengage the cruise.  If the speed dropped by more than 2-3 mph, I'd downshift to 3rd, and try to keep the inst. econ at 4 MPG or above.  In PA and surrounding areas, there are lots of short hills followed by more short hills, so there's a LOT of uphill, downhill, uphill combinations.  Going downhill towards another uphill, I'd hold the throttle at 6-7 MPG to make a run at the next hill, letting the speed run up to a max of 75-80, so hopefully keep it over 70 by the top of the next hill.
That style gave me a very consistent 8.2-8.6 MPG as average, and on a trip that the GPS says would take 3:30 (hr:min), it took 3:30.