• If you currently own, previously owned or want to own an Avalanche, we welcome you to become a member today. Membership is FREE, register now!

2003 - Heater Fan Module - Temporary Fix

The Sheriff

Hi,

I have now replaced the fan speed module twice in the last year and at nearly $200 a pop, transport to the UK; I can't afford to keep replacing it.

The symptom I got each time was the fan continuing to run after the ignition was switched off and it drains the battery.

Question, is it possible to fit an ignition fed relay into the power feed to the unit, I know this will not fix the problem but at least it will stop draining the battery.

If I can where would I fit it and which wires should I break into.

An idiots guide would be great as I am only a moderate mechanic.

Any help or suggestions would be most appreciated.

Why does this module keep burning out ?

Thanks Dave.

By module are you speaking of module that the fan motor plugs into

The Sheriff said:
Hi,

I have now replaced the fan speed module twice in the last year and at nearly $200 a pop, transport to the UK; I can't afford to keep replacing it.

The symptom I got each time was the fan continuing to run after the ignition was switched off and it drains the battery.

Question, is it possible to fit an ignition fed relay into the power feed to the unit, I know this will not fix the problem but at least it will stop draining the battery.

If I can where would I fit it and which wires should I break into.

An idiots guide would be great as I am only a moderate mechanic.

Any help or suggestions would be most appreciated.

Why does this module keep burning out ?

Thanks Dave.
Chances are that blower motor is pulling too much current.  At least that's what commonly took out the power modules in 1980's GM vehicles.

I'm thinking he is referring to the HVAC control,. I could ship the fan blower module to the moon for 200 bucks

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_193b.jpg