• If you currently own, previously owned or want to own an Avalanche, we welcome you to become a member today. Membership is FREE, register now!

my solid axle swap

Looks awsome... what are some specs? Waht axle in the front? gearing? tire size?

looks like you need to compete against these guys..... http://www.siblingrivalry.com/ I have been following thier site for over a year...

Grey

Just out of curiosity, why does someone want a soild axle? (Towing, fourwheeling). And is it a driveshaft/axle or the wheel axle.

Sorry I'm a mechanical rookie.............. :cautious:

yeah...More pics!

You did the work yourself? If not, how much it set you back if you don't mind me askin'.

I know a guy lookin' to do the swap for a total of 21 inches with some 49's. you guys are crazy man...

Mud!

SpottyJ said:
Just out of curiosity, why does someone want a soild axle? (Towing, fourwheeling). And is it a driveshaft/axle or the wheel axle.

Sorry I'm a mechanical rookie.............. :cautious:

all AVY's are solid axle, no? I think he just swapped his 2500 axle out for something heavier :eek:

As to why solid axle? got me...assuming strength and maintenance issue? ??? I've also heard of off-road clearance issues, but don't know for sure. Now that I think about it, wheel articulation would probably be a reason (for? against?), too.

RichUF said:
all AVY's are solid axle, no? I think he just swapped his 2500 axle out for something heavier :eek:

As to why solid axle? got me...assuming strength and maintenance issue? ??? I've also heard of off-road clearance issues, but don't know for sure. Now that I think about it, wheel articulation would probably be a reason (for? against?), too.

Front is IFS - Swapping it out allows for more stability and added hieght. 12inches on IFS is borderline in itself, but with the Solid Axle, you can get up there in height!

Mud!

kodio said:
RichUF said:
all AVY's are solid axle, no?

Not in the front.